Home

back to basics
Recently I’ve become all too aware of the levels of news saturation. And recently, as a reaction, I’ve seen myself turn away from global plight, not to be an ostrich burying her head in the sand, but because I feel so strongly that good news and good feeling has to start at home. If you aren’t tending to your own environment around you to make it nurturing, if the people around you aren’t cheering you on to take flight, then you can’t tend to the rest of the world in a meaningful way.

So I’ve turned down the globalisation dial and headed back to my roots. There, I’ve seen so much disarray: friends going through their own strife and struggles, all with mammoth journeys ahead. My photoblog and frivolous twitter and  facebook feeds mean nothing to them as they struggle to look for an unknown horizon.

I felt that there must be thousands of us supporters out there who sometimes feel like they can’t cut through the overwhelming noise of life just to speak to a special soul with whom you have that incredible connection. This is me working out how to find a way through. It’s not about turning their pain into my journey. It’s not about shouting in their face that they’re not alone. It’s about letting those we love know, when they can look, how strong we are standing next to them each and every day.

Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Just walk beside me and be my friend. Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

