Home

“I am not what happened to me, I am what I choose to become.”
Carl Jung

As the weekend draws to a close, I find myself in a somewhat philosophical mood. For many of my friends, it has been a turbulent week and next week looks outwardly not much different. Actually, the more I think about it, the more ‘turbulent’ seems apt. Their ‘normal’ life flow has been agitated to the point of disorder. Things put in place now seem stubbornly rebellious, parameters in their life now shifting with a different velocity. From the other side of the world, I’ve seen them strap up for the ride.

I’m a huge believer in tough circumstances offering a chance for you to be the best you can be. The other option weighs just too heavy and, as someone who has been there even in ‘endless’ blackest days, I know there was still always a voice telling me to step up. There is a power in taking the fear and the anger and turning into forward propulsion. There is a point when the fear can turn to frustration and that means you are already lifting yourself up to where you think you deserve to be. Light, happiness, hope, they all move fast and high, too fast and too high for the naysayers, the critics, for the pessimists. And on that journey, you push off from the circumstances to where you want to be.

More so today than normal, as I’ve sat in my easy life, I’ve been filled with a huge pride for those I love. No matter what beast is staring them down, I’ve watched each of them find ground. Some are awaiting the chance to rid themselves of illness for once and for all. They will. Some are rebuilding homes from the heart up. They will too. Cynics will tell me that I can’t say that with certainty. I reply that they are heroes. Not heroes in the bronze statue kind of way, not as some historic nostalgic persona, but they are heroes in a very present and clear and empowered way. Each of them has a vision of where they want to get to – and the pain of not getting there is greater than the pain of staying where they are. That gives them the best chance of all. That’s what makes me certain.

I look at them and I see them building a future and it is inspiring. This is but a modest tribute to them.

To them I say: may the next week bring a lighter load, glorious days and the strength to keep powering through, because you get closer to your goals each day.

lotus

Leave a Reply

