Home

Onwards and upwards appears to have become my new mantra, my new comfort to extend to people, my new goal. Implied in the language is I won’t back down. I don’t know when I adopted it or why, but today I suddenly became very conscious of it and its connotations. As ever, with anything assumed subconsciously, it holds all sorts of pertinent reminders for me whilst I go through this chapter of change.

Onwards
I saw a quote today which reminded me of a very simple truth – even if you stand still, challenges will come. Even if you try to resist flow, press pause, curl up so no movement is made to upset everyone, good and bad things will still come. So we may as well look to progress, even if we feel aimless. Onwards we are taken by our sense of time and connection. Onwards we are taken on our path. Even when it feels as though we have run out of petrol, the slow evolution of our environment contradicts this and reminds us that we flow always. Better then to flow mindfully, holding the direction forward rather than wrestle with the past or any other shackles that may exist or drag you off course.

The process is the all. It’s not like we will ever know if we remember the end of our journey, so there is no point in chasing goals that we think will make that closing off any easier. Before that point, doesn’t it make more sense to take the time to look out the window, take in the views, admire the contrasts and get inspired by those around you? There will be steps that seem hard and those we forget, those that bring pain and those that bring ease. But isn’t that the point? So that we can connect with those raw developmental elements that we all share: emotions and experiences.

“Everywhere is walking distance if you have the time.”
― Steven Wright

Upwards
I just paused to work out how to start this section and just espied a beautiful aerial shot of Bondi Beach- and smiled. We can all think of an aerial shot that has inspired us: be it of desert or waterfall, coast or crowd. There is something compelling about a larger perspective. Something comforting about the grand scale and knowing that whilst we make a difference, one mistake can’t upset the entire balance and flow. That upward perspective, towards the macro and the universe is something that most people do in some way, shape or fashion, without necessarily interrogating it. Getting yourself to a higher point, to not be dragged into the microcosm of your existence is, I feel, key to belonging, to compassion with less judgement.

For those who have seen the Earth from space, and for the hundreds and perhaps thousands more who will, the experience most certainly changes your perspective. The things that we share in our world are far more valuable than those which divide us.
– Donald Williams, Astronaut, USA

Increasingly, over the last few weeks, I’ve found myself spiralling every morning. I’ve been thinking my way down into the petty and the circular, the uncontrollable and the mundane. Every time, I’ve spotted it, I’ve had to laugh. Here I am writing each week about momentum and uplifting and here I am totally managing to ignore myself. Upwards is where I belong. Where thoughts take flight and things can happen. Where light can get to the mind and the weight lifted from shoulders. It’s about faith or spirituality, about reaching for that lighter feeling thought with a knowledge that it is always there to be attained.

So onwards and upwards it is.
Each day. Be it scattered or synchronistic, frantic or fabulous. Onwards and upwards I aim to be, to embody, to support and sustain. What’s yours?

OnwardAndUpward_Jay Roeder

OnwardAndUpward_Jay Roeder

Leave a Reply

