Home

the context to this post

I just watched this and pondered on it.

Do you remember when the whole world seemed to take arms against Murdoch and the tabloids? When the world seemed to relish in the vision of an elderly man, who seems to happily embody much of what we don’t like in the world, suddenly looking frail? When the western world, seeming united in a sense of morality, could define where lines should be drawn and community re established? I wonder if all those people stopped buying celebrity mags. I wonder if those so vociferous in their outrage ceased to wonder who was with who and what that looked like.

Having seen how the ticketing industry for entertainment works over the last four years, I see something similar there. I see people building celebrities into icons, beacons for their own lives. They abdicate responsibility for their own creativity and hand it over gently and lovingly into the hands of spotlight lot strangers to carry for them. When they can’t get tickets to see their shows, they buy them from scalpers, all the time bemoaning that they shouldn’t have to pay such extortionate sums to see their absolute hero. They hate ticket scalpers yet adhere to their prices and their systems to see their icon.

I watched this video and pondered. We, some of us, rail about the consequences of unfettered capitalism and yet look for ways to make a quick buck here or there. We complain that the wealthiest of the wealthy don’t give more to charity but we turn a blind eye to the beggar on the street. We scream about the world’s reliance on non-renewable resources and then throw out leftover food because it won’t taste so nice the next day. We worry about climate change and then want to buy out of season produce.

The only way we can make it okay for there to be a moral question in corporate governance is for there to be a moral question in our own governance. The only way we can look to the giant conglomerations and question what they are doing is if we can, iota by iota, disengage from that very system ourselves. I don’t believe that what I am saying is easy. Not for one second. But I do believe that ANY change we can make is important.

For over five years now, I’ve looked to buy my food from independent stores. I’m lucky enough that my finances allow me to do that. I’m lucky enough that, on good months, I can buy organic products and produce, or at least locally sourced. I am lucky enough that I could prioritise where I live to be close to public transport. I am blessed that it doesn’t bother me if I get on a later or an earlier train or bus.

I, when I remember, listen to myself and I spot little trends. I get more materialistic the more stressed I get. That’s based on wanting to ‘treat’ myself more, and that means having more things. I try to resist that old wiring. When I’m tired and the inner monologue judges someone else as inept, annoying or frustrating, I try my hardest to understand it’s more likely to be resonating with me because it’s precisely what I am scared of being to others. I try not to knee-jerk snap at someone in a moment, in which if I shared, I would wish someone to show me compassion.

I’m no angel. I’m no influencer and no new cultural leader. I’m no grassroots founder of alternative living. I’m just the girl next door. I just want to be a part of a shift that let’s people come back together. I want to contribute energy to a world where we consider the ground we walk on and the people we brush shoulders with both, equally, as home. I yearn for a life when more words are spoken from positivity than judgement, alienation and negativity.

I want to see more celebration of all that is wonderful so it’s harder for others to chip away at it under an apathetic gaze. I want a chance to see humanity to prove itself as more worthy, moral, fair and interested than we ever choose to give it credit for. I want to contribute to a world where people own their responsibility and morality first, not as a means to drive separation and competition. I would love to live in a world where a CEO can be both a leader and a grandfather in the difference of a heartbeat.

20131004-172307.jpg

5 thoughts on “the grandfather CEO

  1. Your words just helped me realize why I hold back from writing about my things that go bad in life (though, when I do, I feel such relief)… It is the energy that flows from what we write…”I want to contribute energy…” Exactly, and I am trying mindfully to contribute positive energy… I am no angel either or spokesperson for virtue and morality, but I want to be a contributor of something positive… beautiful post my friend, alexandra

    • The energy is so much stronger when we acknowledge the hard bits, I believe, yet speak still with optimism and faith of a better tomorrow. So write away, I say 🙂
      And thank you always for your time and your encouragement. It means so much.

Leave a Reply

