Home

“Complaining continues to create the vibration of what you don’t want. Today, take your focus off of what is wrong and focus on what is right and how you desire things to be. Put all your love, energy, mental power and decision making towards what you want and do not entertain thoughts that are to the contrary. You are MORE responsible for the way you feel than your environment, circumstances or relationships. Step towards Love today, step towards the solution.” – Jackson Kiddard

I consider that I could be interpreted as removed from the real grit, grunge and grossness of modern people. I worry that I come across as idealistic, one of those unrealistic hippies who is somehow floating above the ugliness that is pervading the world and closing my eyes to the issues of the world. I worry that I project a world view that seemingly ignores the cries for help and equality, recompense and responsibility.

I want to be clear. I am the world.

I do not mean that I am more important than anyone else, above anyone else, nor utterly arrogant. The statement comes from understanding that I am no more separate from the entity I call ‘world’ than you are. I understand that when I speak of changing the world, that I necessarily speak of changing myself as an integral part of that landscape. I can no more talk of wishing to turn the tide without including myself than I can speak of breathing and not draw breath. My view into our shared existence started when my eyes began to see and my ears to hear. And my view will die with me. It’s my responsibility to hone, harmonise and holistically embrace all that is positive and enlightening in the world view before that happens. And I don’t believe that I can do that by wallowing in the mire.

I photograph the beautiful things on the street because I love to and because I think there are too many lenses focussed on all that is ugly. I write from the heart because I hear too many messages written from unconscious and unconsidered yet head-based language. I try to turn down the volume on the problems, not to ignore them, but to better tune into the voices of solutions because that is what feels right to me. I am studying myself and learning to listen to the trinity of head, heart and gut so that I can tap into my energy more mindfully and consciously and add to other mindful and compassionate flows.

I want to be clear. You are the world too.

You are separate to nothing, therefore your power to influence is larger than you ever gave yourself credit for. There is no world nor society to which you do not belong. You hold the most incredible power, right now, to shift things to the better. Every time you understand you choose your emotional response to anything; you choose to recycle instead of throw that one little item aside; that’s the difference. Right there, just that tiny moment. That helps. Every time you decide to spend just that little more at your local independent store; flick over from train-wreck tv shows to something that celebrates the abundant beauty of our planet; take the risk to be creative in anything you do, that helps. Every time you choose to try to set your ego aside and see the full vista, that helps.

We are the world. We don’t have to be a Mandela or Gandhi or Mother Teresa to change it. We don’t have to be a charismatic leader nor an erudite speaker to contribute to ourselves. We don’t have to perfectly live a life of perfection. We just have to care enough to be positive in our promotion of love.

accentuate

Leave a Reply

