Home

flight

Everybody has wings. Everyone has in them the power to make their life an extraordinary flight over a land of rugged beauty, wheeling through the air with friends to make the most beautiful of spectacles; to inspire those who consider themselves land bound to aspire higher; to faithfully place themselves in the arms of invisible forces to find new vistas and perspectives.

For some of us, we spend our whole lives looking for the launch pad. But we never see it because our eyes get distracted by routine, fear, self limitations. We think we are hunting for the best space to take off but we are, at best, edging our way nervously along a mile-wide Tarmac believing that a precipice will appear at any given moment.

When you get home from a horrid day and your shoulders ache, it’s because your wings have been cramped into submission by the naysayers and the unbelievers. When you gaze out of the window despondently, it feels like you carry a leaden weight, like you can’t look up. But all you have to do is learn your way to shake the day off and lift back up once more, back up to limitless horizons, dreams and light.

I am one of the lucky ones. I have heroes in my life. They fly above me, tap my shoulder, grin and tease me as they grow stronger. And I smile to see them, for making me lift my eyes skyward once more. For I can feel my feathers unfurl and I know they’ll urge me only further, higher, until I hit the right heights and I soar.

“I have come to accept the feeling of not knowing where I am going. And I have trained myself to love it. Because it is only when we are suspended in mid-air with no landing in sight, that we force our wings to unravel and alas begin our flight. And as we fly, we still may not know where we are going to. But the miracle is in the unfolding of the wings. You may not know where you’re going, but you know that so long as you spread your wings, the winds will carry you.” ― C. JoyBell C.

4 thoughts on “on the wing

  1. I am without words…”I am one of the lucky ones. I have heroes in my life.” Today I heard the Buddhist quote: When the student is ready, the teacher will appear. I had always thought I was a late bloomer or just totally out of the loop, but this quote made me realize/ change my view about my tardy arrival to important milestones or information… my guides have come from unexpected places and finding them has made me feel one of the lucky ones… Thank you my dear friend…”You may not know where you’re going, but you know that so long as you spread your wings, the winds will carry you.”

Leave a Reply

